2019 Titus Brandsma awardees bared

2019 Titus Brandsma awardees bared

The awardees will formally receive their Titus Brandsma awards in a ceremonial dinner at the SM Skydome, North EDSA, Quezon City on Oct. 28

By CBCP News

October 8, 2019

Manila, Philippines

Five journalists and an archivist are the recipients of the prestigious Titus Brandsma Awards.

The awardees are journalists Ed Lingao, Christian Esguerra, Luis Teodoro, and archivist Belinda Capul.

Also among the recipients are the late earth warrior Gina Lopez and Jesuit Fr. James Reuter.

The Titus Brandsma awards are given to journalists for their outstanding leadership in the field and embodiment of Brandsma principles.

Ed Lingao

Lingao wins in the Leadership in Journalism category. He has been in journalism for the last 32 years, building a body of work that crosses from print to broadcast to online, and sweeping across major beats from the police to the Palace, from the conflict in deserts and jungles to conflicts in Congress. He started out by covering the major social, political, and governance beats before shifting focus to conflict reportage in the early 2000s. He is now busy with his wife Esther with The Laptop Project, a private initiative to bring laptops to remote and hard-to-reach schools in the countryside. The project is in honor of their late daughter Elizabeth.

Christian Esguerra

Esguerra is the recipient of this year’s Emergent Leadership in Journalism award. He is recognized “for his abiding efforts to the pursuit of excellence in media reporting with his sharp analysis to interpret the meaning of events and explain the issues in the news that confront Filipinos in these difficult times. He also ‘evangelizes’ his young students by his living witness in the field he teaches that is political journalism, media ethics, and social communication.”

Luis Teodoro

Teodoro is to be given the Freedom of the Press award for being “a journalist, editor and journalism educator whose incisive critiques of Philippine media have inspired generations of media practitioners and scholars. Many of the latter are now established journalists, editors and media scholars who, in turn, imparted to their audience and students, the ethical principles and the professionalism of the craft of journalism that they have learned from Luis. His sharp analyses in his columns often step on the interests of the powerful and the mighty, and necessarily so as the overall thrust of his media advocacy is a democratized access to information for a learned society.”

Belinda Capul

Capul bags the award for Leadership in Communication, and Culture and Arts. She is cited “for the permanent inclusion of key historical AV documents within the UNESCO Memory of the World International Register such as the radio broadcast recording of the 1986 People Power Revolution, Belina’s free-handed labor in preserving this memory will assist the future generation of Filipinos in transforming this into a process of preserving justice in their nation and the world.”

Gina Lopez

Lopez, who passed away in August, is honored in Leadership in Environmental Communication as “a woman, a champion for her various advocacies like care for the environment, child protection, and the disadvantage. Her empowered and spirit-led energy is an epitome of passion and love for children’s welfare and human rights.”

Fr. James Reuter, SJ

Reuter, who died in 2012, gets the Lifetime Achievement award for his unparalleled legacy in media, spanning decades in the field of communications, broadcasting, and media. He was an important figure in television, print, radio, and even in theatre.

The awardees will formally receive their Titus Brandsma awards in a ceremonial dinner on Oct. 28 at the SM Skydome, North EDSA, Quezon City.

Established in 2000, the Titus Brandsma Award is named after the patron of the Carmelite province in the Philippines.

Titus Brandsma was a martyred Dutch Carmelite friar, scholar, and journalist who was imprisoned during World War II for declaring the freedom of the press.

He was beatified by St. John Paul II in 1985 and is recognized as a “Martyr of Press Freedom.”