Select Page

Calbayog seminary celebrates 110th anniversary

Calbayog seminary celebrates 110th anniversary

Saint Vincent de Paul College Seminary in Calbayog City. PHOTO FROM SVDPCS FACEBOOK PAGE

By Carl Jamie Bordeos

July 8, 2020

Calbayog City, Samar

One of the country’s oldest seminaries marked the 110th year of its birth with a scaled-down event last week because of the coronavirus pandemic.

With only a few in attendance, a Mass and exhibit highlighted the gathering to celebrate the foundation of the Saint Vincent de Paul College Seminary on June 29.

“This event calls us to greater service,” said seminary rector Fr. Rodante Abegonia during the Mass attended by seminary priests, lay teachers and seminarians.

Other features of the simple celebration included an exhibit of the archive issues of “Balangaw”, the official publication of SVPCS.

The oldest seminary in the Eastern Visayas region was built in 1910 when the Diocese of Calbayog was erected and separated from the Cebu diocese.

Its first residential bishop, Msgr. Pablo Singzon, decreed the establishment of the seminary to produce native men for the priesthood.

In 30 years since its inception, the seminary produced about 103 priests for Samar and Leyte parishes.

Among its notable graduates is the second Filipino cardinal, Julio Rosales, of Cebu. He was part of the conclave that elected Pope John Paul II in 1978.

The seminary had also produced three archbishops including Lino Gonzaga, Cipriano Urgel and Pedro Dean, and four bishops, namely, Miguel Acebedo, Ricardo Tancinco, Angel Hobayan and Maximiano Cruz.