Select Page

Nominees sought for 11th Cardinal Sin Catholic Book Awards

Nominees sought for 11th Cardinal Sin Catholic Book Awards

MANILA  – Nominations to the 11th Cardinal Sin Catholic Book Awards are open until May 31, 2017.

To be considered, entries must be books authored by a local (Philippine-based) Catholic writer and published by a local Catholic publisher, printed from June 1, 2016 to April 30, 2017. Entries must be published for the first time during this period. Previous entries cannot be nominated again. Compiled or edited books will not be accepted.

There is a non-refundable nomination fee of Php3,000.00 per title. Check payment should be payable to: Asian Catholic Communicators, Inc. Two (2) copies of the entry form should be filled out.

Entry forms and nomination fees should be sent to the Cardinal Sin Catholic Book Awards Secretariat c/o Jesuit Communications Foundation, Inc. at Sonolux Bldg., Ateneo de Manila University, Loyola Heights, Quezon City. The secretariat may be reached through email or telephone numbers (632) 927-9659  or TL (632) 426-5971 local 121 (Dit Sablan) or 112 (Alice Bartlett).

E-books and more

Other guidelines are as follows:

  • Entries may be submitted by any person or organization. More than one entry for each category may be submitted.
  • Prepare three (3) copies of the nominated book. For E-Books, entries must be in PDF format, saved in three (3) USB flash drives. Entries will not be returned.

Nominations for the E-Books Category should observe the following additional guidelines:

  • The E-Book must not have been published in print form.
  • The publishing date must be shown in the E-Book.
  • The E-Book must be available for sale online; a link to the online bookstore must be specified.
  • The entry must be endorsed by a member of the ACCI who will certify that all requirements have been met.

Books from A to Z

It should be noted that the decision of the judges is final and irrevocable.

The CSCBA Trophy is awarded to a winning entry that scores 90% and above while a Special Citation Plaque is awarded to a winning entry that scores below 90%.

Finalists will receive certificates at the Awards Ceremonies on Sept. 13, 2017 during the 38th Manila International Book Fair.

Categories of the 11th Cardinal Sin Catholic Book Awards are as follows:

  • Spirituality. According to the secretariat of the awards these are “(b)ooks that serve and deepen prayer life, edify spiritual growth and give guidance and light to a real Christian life, including works in prayers, meditations, lives of saints and the likes.”
  • Ministry. Entries should “illustrate or document the varied forms of Christian ministry in the Philippines, including faith-based advocacies, social/civic apostolate and projects.”
  • Theology. “Books that aid study of and reflection on Catholic Christian faith and doctrine, including works in Scriptures, Patristic, Christology, Church and Morals.”
  • Liturgy. “Books that provide study and reflection on Sacraments, Worship Ministries and Devotion.”
  • Homiletics. According to the awards secretariat, entries are “(b)ooks written to aid pastors, resource speakers and church leaders in their study of the Word. These are usually a set of exegesis and personal reflections based on Weekday and Sunday readings. They benefit those seeking for a more comprehensive scriptural insight needed for their ministerial duties and apostolic work.”
  • Family Life. Entries to this category should “promote the value of the domestic church, including true to life stories about parenting, family relationships, struggles and accomplishments.”
  • Inspirational. Uplifting the spirit, entries to this cateogry “either contain inspiring stories of people or serve as resource materials for meditation. They influence the mind to reach a new level of understanding, which leads one to greater self-knowledge and deeper communion with God.”
  • Children. Aside from being perfect for younger readers, entries should have “appealing visuals that give values formation to children ages 12 and below including stories of faith, virtues, morals, heroic deeds, and special children’s documented activities.”
  • Youth. Nominees to this category are “(b)ooks that give values formation to young individuals ages 13 and above including stories of faith, virtues, morals, heroic deeds, and special youth documented activities.”
  • E-Books (Electronic Books). Entries for this particular segment are “(b)ooks covering the different categories above but made available in digital form consisting of text, images, or both, readable on computers or other electronic devices.”

There is a special category called the Lifetime Achievement Award, which is given to a “Catholic writer whose lifework represents a continuing contribution to the propagation of the Christian Faith through the print media, in recognition of the exemplary Catholic life and apostolic zeal as reflected in the Christian values and ideals contained in his/her writings.”  (CBCPNews)