Select Page

Archbishop Valles assumes post as new CBCP head

Archbishop Valles assumes post as new CBCP head

Archbishop Romulo Valles greets children-beneficiaries of the Pope Francis House of Mercy, a nourishment center for malnourished kids in Davao City, September 30, 2016. BRENDA MILAN

MANILA— Archbishop Romulo Valles of Davao officially assumed leadership of the Catholic Bishops’ Conference of the Philippines on Friday.

Valles, who leads the new set of officers following their election in July, assumed his post as the 20th president of the bishops’ collegial body. He was CBCP vice president prior to his election.

The 66-year-old prelate replaced Archbishop Socrates Villegas of Lingayen-Dagupan, who completed his second and final term.

The new members of the CBCP Permanent Council attended a turnover ceremony at a joint meeting with their outgoing counterparts in Manila on November 23.

Also assuming his post as new CBCP vice president is Bishop Pablo Virgilio David of Kalookan.

The other members of the CBCP Permanent Council or regional representatives are:

  • Archbishop Marlo Peralta of Nueva Segovia
  • Bishop Ruperto Santos of Balanga
  • Bishop Reynaldo Evangelista of Imus
  • Bishop Victor Ocampo of Gumaca
  • Bishop Jose Rojas of Libmanan
  • Archbishop Jose Advincula of Capiz
  • Bishop Isabelo Abarquez of Calbayog
  • Archbishop Romulo dela Cruz of Zamboanga
  • Archbishop Martin Jumoad of Ozamiz

Archbishop John Du of Palo was reelected CBCP treasurer, while Fr. Marvin Mejia also remained as the secretary general.

This new set of officers will set the pace and the agenda of the CBCP for at least the next two years.

CBCP officials have a two-year tenure in office, or a total of four to include a possible second term.

The CBCP is currently composed of 126 members— 83 of them are active, five are administrators, and 43 are retired from 86 ecclesiastical jurisdictions. CBCPNews